Home » Announcements » Utilities » Washington State Bill SB 5503 : Septic Systems

Announcements

Washington State Bill SB 5503 : Septic Systems

3/10/2019
The Rover

Septic System Bill


https://app.leg.wa.gov/billsummary?BillNumber=5503&Year=2019&initiative=

From the legislature:

 'SB 5503 - DIGEST (AS OF SENATE 2ND READING 3/06/19) Declares it is the intent of the legislature to ensure that only requirements that are reasonable, appropriately tailored, and necessary are imposed on the installation, operation, maintenance, or repair of on-site sewage systems'

Summary
'...Failing On-Site Sewage Systems. SBOH rules must:  give first priority to repairing and second priority to replacing an existing conventional OSS; not impose more stringent performance requirements of equivalent OSS on private entities than public entities; and allow repair of an OSS using the least expensive alternatives that meet standards, and is likely to provide comparable or better long-term sewage treatment and effluent dispersal outcomes.

Inspections of On-Site Sewage Systems. SBOH rules must: require coordination between the owner and certified professional inspector or public agency prior to accessing the OSS; require authorization by the OSS owner for inspection by a certified inspector or public agency unless the LHJ obtains an administrative search warrant following existing procedures; and forbid LHJs from conditioning OSS permits with requirements for inspections or maintenance easements of OSS located on a single property servicing a single dwelling...'

From Betsy Howe, Founder, COOMW

'After passing the Senate UNANIMOUSLY, SB 55043 has been sent to the House Environment Committee. We need to ask for a hearing. If all goes well, they will vote it “out” of Committee and on to the Rules Committee. The Rules Committee will vote it “out” for a vote on the House Floor. Each move can involve complications which is why it is so important to ask that it be “Passed out of Committee as written”. That means we want no changes!


This week, members of the House Environment Committee need to hear from us! We are asking that “SB5503, regarding relief for Onsite Sewage System owners, be given a hearing”. They are familiar with our Bill and have been supportive. Giving us a hearing is the next step.


Here is the list of Committee members:


Joe Fitzgibbon (D-34th District)

360-786-7952

Joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov

Debra Lekanoff (D-40)

7800

Debra.Lekanoff@leg.wa.gov

Matt Shea (R-04)

7984

Matt.Shea@leg.wa.gov

Mary Dye (R-09)

7942

Mary.Dye@leg.wa.gov

Matt Boehnke (R-08)

7986

Matt.Boehnke@leg.wa.gov

Beth Doglio (D-22)

7992

Beth.Doglio@leg.wa.gov

Jake Fey (D-27)

7974

Jake.Fey@leg.wa.gov

Jared Mead (D-44)

7892

Jared.Mead@leg.wa.gov

Strom Peterson (D-21)

7950

Strom.Peterson@leg.wa.gov

Sharon Shewmake (D-42)

7854

Sharon.Shewmake@leg.wa.gov


'
Bridle Trails Community Club does not know Betsy Howe or COOMW, but we are reaching out because of the many septic systems in the area. Please follow-up with your representatives or Betsy Howe, Founder, COOMWA,  <coomwa@outlook.com> 253-569-9833,
 https://www.coomwa.org for more information. Please contact bridletrails@gmail.org if you have information to share. Let us know if you testify.


 More at BridleTrailsCommunity.org
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

JOIN BTCC 

Membership: $20 per calendar year

NAME:________________________________________________________

ADDRESS: ___________________________________________________

CITY: __________________ STATE: ________ZIP: ______________

PHONE: ________________________________________

EMAIL: ________________________________________

Are you willing to receive email newsletters and notices to save mailing costs?
___ Yes ___ No
Thank you for supporting BTCC!
_ _ _ _
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

Please send $20 check payable to:
Bridle Trails Community Club
6619 132nd Ave. N.E. #133
Kirkland, WA 98033

New Members? Questions?: Contact: Christine Hemnes, 425-417-6892 or christine@windermere.com

All BTCC information is confidential and will not be shared




Copyright 1998-2019 AtHomeNet, Inc. All rights reserved.
HOA Sites by AtHomeNet